Page 1 of 4 12 ... LastLast

Thread: Heather and electric propulsion

Default Heather and electric propulsion

Heather 2.jpg
    I have a new boat I am converting from diesel to electric. Open to advice as I have little to no experience with electric propulsion.
    Thanks to anyone here with an insight.unnamed.jpg
    Unknown.jpeg
    Brem-River.jpg

Default Re: Heather and electric propulsion

I found this book a good place to start for someone who knows nothing on the subject. It explains electric propulsion in the most basic terms.
    Work the numbers and see what you think.
    I concluded that it is too heavy and/or expensive to be doable, for me.
    In the rough sea in your first pic...I would want the diesel.
    51E9A5D966L._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

In what part of the world would that be considered a 'rough sea'?

South Puget Sound/summer Eastern carib./winter

I don't get it.
    In the PNW, yer either going dead up or dead down wind. It is not a sailors paradise.
    A diesel GIVES you both electricity and heat.

Cute boat. I cannot imagine switching away from diesel being cost effective, energy effective, or eco effective. Even if you get your batteries recharged by wind and solar - iffy at best if you're cruising - you've still the issues of those big batteries.

Hahahahaha! That’s probably the cutest boat I’ve ever seen!

That is just about as much as you can pack in, isn’t it? I love it.

Why are you looking to change? Curiousity, is all. We looked long and hard at electric for two boats, and it is hard to make it work out with weigh and power and cost and charging and etc. Hard for us, anyway.

I will be watching with great interest.

Peace,
    Robert

P.S. More about the boat? Is she as much fun as she looks? I’d probably smile the whole time.

Quote Originally Posted by timo4352 View Post
    I found this book a good place to start for someone who knows nothing on the subject. It explains electric propulsion in the most basic terms.