Thread: Rascal Runabout Build

Default Rascal Runabout Build

New to the forum and to boat building. I am a woodworker but wanted to change gears. I have seen some wooden boats and thought it would be something Iíd like to try to do. So after browsing plans I landed on Ken Bassetís Rascal Runabout Plans. Just wanted to say ďHeyĒ and introduce myself. I will be posting updates and Iím sure plenty of questions.
    I started Saturday milling material and built the keel and tonight I built frame #1.
    I have decided to make all the frame work of Mahogany as thatís what I have.

I have not permanently assembled anything yet as I want the ability to throw this thing in reverse if I need to. I do have my first question though. I see that some folks have epoxy coated parts before assembling the frame. Is it acceptable to epoxy coat fame pieces, especially where they join each other and then epoxy them together after first coat is dry? Will this create a weak joint. These particular frame members are joined with lap joints.
    Thank,
    Dominic
    Severn, MD

Default Rascal Runabout Build

The rascal is a great design. Personally I would not seal coat everything first. I do not see it making a huge difference. I coated the interior mine with cpes and quality paint after it was assembled and the inside looks as good as the day it was painted originally.

The boat stays nearly completely dry inside. Installed a bulge pump that has never been used and never bothered with installing drain plugs.

Ken was helpful when I had questions during the built but most of it was pretty straightforward.

Enjoy!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Tom

Default Re: Rascal Runabout Build

Quote Originally Posted by ddefino View Post

Is it acceptable to epoxy coat fame pieces, especially where they join each other and then epoxy them together after first coat is dry? Will this create a weak joint.