Thread: Anchor stowage

Default Anchor stowage

I'm a model builder, currently doing Hemingway's "Pilar".

A small detail eludes me: Pilar carried at least a couple folding stock anchors on the cabin roof forward... my best image of this is an illustration taken from a photo, below.

The boat now at Finca Vigia shows no signs of anchor mounting hardware, but much is not original there (including the non-original anchor just laying there). How would YOU stow these anchors on a cabin roof?
    Attached Images Attached Images

Default Re: Anchor stowage

You need a pair of grooved wood chocks for the flukes to sit in, another to support the shank, high enough so that the end of the stock is clear of the deck, and some eye bolts or pads to take a lashing to hold it down near the middle of the shank.
    It really is quite difficult to build an ugly wooden boat.

The power of the web: Anyone can post anything on the web
    The weakness of the web: Anyone can post anything on the web.

There would likely be, " chocks," though fisherman sometimes use mashed up contrivances, in this case some kind of rope lashing. If chocks, they might have looked like so:

This one is for a Danforth type. While the specifics would vary, the principle for a fisherman type anchor would be about the same.Crown rests on the big piece; the stock ( removed) and shank ( assembled) are kept captive by the screw clamp or a lashing; the tips of the flukes are held by the little bits. Its all screwed down so as to suit the size of the specific anchor.

This is how it MIGHT have been.

Hemmingway's fishing was mostly trolling. The anchors might have only been brought on deck from dissassembled stowage elsewhere aboard for those times he wanted to fish a reef, or anchor for some other reason. The illustration you posted may reflect such a moment, rather than the day-in/ day-out state of affairs.

Kevin