Thread: Advice required for first boat build!

Smile Advice required for first boat build!

Hey everybody,

I'm new here and this is my first post. I have been hugely inspired by a book I've just picked up, 'A Voyage For Madmen'. I'm sure a lot of you are familiar with it!

Anyway, I am wanting to learn to sail and want to start by building a very small wooden yacht, a skiff perhaps? I really know nothing about what type of boat is best for learning and what is achievable as a first build. I'm pretty confident in my hand skills and ability to follow a good plan and set of instructions, I'm an aircraft engineer by trade.

So, 2 questions.

1. What exact type of boat should I go for?

2. Where can I acquire the plans?

I really want to start soon and am fizzing about it! I live close to Picton in New Zealand which is part of the Marlborough Sounds, a great sailing area.

I appreciate any and all help and any additional bits of advice or hints!

Cheers,

Elliott

Default Re: Advice required for first boat build!

Hi Elliot!

This is what I'd be eyeing in a first build small yacht category:

https://www.archdavisdesigns.com/davis_penobscot13.html

Welcome to the Forum. There are LOTS of possibilities for boats to build. One place to see plans for a lot of them all at once is DUCKWORKS BOATBULDING SUPPLY.

A simple boat with a flat bottom and sides is generally the easiest, cheapest build--but will be somewhat limited in its ability in rough water. Designers like Jim Michalak (on the Duckworks site) specialize in these kinds of boats. His Mayfly design (12' and 16' versions) is pretty capable in the right hands. I know one Mayfly sailor who cruises pretty extensively on the Texas coast.

John Goodman 1.jpg

New Zealand is home to a great small boat designer, John Welsford (also on Duckworks). His boats are more complicated to build, but very capable and seaworthy.

If you're just learning to sail, a boat with a simple rig (one mast, one sail) is probably the way to go.