Page 1 of 3 12 ... LastLast

Thread: Building Ninigret

Default Building Ninigret

Made up my mind that I'm going to build Atkin's Ninigret. Plans are in hand and I'm readying myself, and my shop, to get started.
    I want to start a build thread here to share my progress, and ask for your help, as I go along. It will also help me keep track of what I've done - right or wrong.
    Of course, I already have some questions that are bouncing around in my head, but not quite ready to put them out there yet 'til I do my research. I'm not looking to alienate any would be help by asking too many stupid questions.
    Things will start out kind of slow because I've got a lot of work to do to get my shop in order for a big project. Plus lots of studying the plans, and reading up on lofting, and boat building. This is not my first boat build - some of you may remember my stick-up sharpie, and gunning dory threads on the forum. So I've got some experience, but this is a bit bigger, more complicated undertaking for me. It should be fun. The boat will be used for fishing and fun on Lake Erie primarily. We have some inland lakes around northern Ohio too.
    Here she is:

Isn't she pretty?

http://www.atkinboatplans.com/Articl...ret/index.html
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by timo4352; 09-24-2018 at 08:58 AM. Reason: picture trouble

Default Re: Building Ninigret

Pretty indeed. You did good jobs on your last builds, the wood on this one is just a bit longer......

I, for one, am quite excited about seeing your build progress. Ninigret is high on my list of possibles. Your thread just may put me over the top. A couple of ideas I've had:

1) Install a windscreen on top of the short cabin top. I don't see how it would be comfortable at all driving the boat with a face full of wind.

2) Add a fold-down canvas top to cover the helm and adjacent passenger seat. Something to both block wind and rain.