Thread: Oh oh, the boat is rotten.

Default Oh oh, the boat is rotten.

So this is my first project. The engine didnt started (outboard mercury 50hp 1966) so i started qirh that first. It took a day, but it now works pretty damn good!

Then i stripped everything from the boat, since i knew there had patches of fiber glass dans that the boat was leaking. So i flip the boat, abd that happended : lots of rotten wood.

i'm going do have to work a lot.

any tips on where to start, any trips in general? I'm was going to make a copy on the tail part, remplace it, keep the parts pnf the frame that and still good(the 3 pieces are) and reinforce them (sandwich style) - i would start qith that!
    Attached Images Attached Images

Default Re: Oh oh, the boat is rotten.

Is there something special about this boat that makes you want to save It, some deep family connection?
    If not, youre better off walking away now and buying or building another.
    Rebuilding that boat will take a lot of time and money and when you're done you won't have much of a boat.

Almost everything about boats involves so much more time and money than one anticipates that rational and accurate planning will deter even starting. I'd not say that we who plunge ahead heedless of the adverse consequences on our finances and social relationships are irrational addicts to a drug (wooden boats) more addictive, more socially and personally destructive than cocaine.

Let us just say that we have higher values.

But even with that there comes a time to pause. If the photos are the only such damage, maybe there might be a reason to save this boat on some terms. If she were an historically interesting boat, it could be worth a real restoration to classic standards. If, as from the pix, she's a fairly common boat, and if what we see is the only real problem (incredibly unlikely but to proceed with the hypothesis) then it might be worth using some wood, epoxy, and glass to make her work for a few years.