Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Skin on Frame in the UK?

Default Skin on Frame in the UK?

Hi folks,

For some time now I've had a hankering to design and build a solo canoe for fuselage style Skin on Frame construction.

For a while I was considering building one of Flo-mo's beautiful single sheet designs but I've decided that they will be just a bit too small for me (80kg) plus I would like a little more capacity for the odd overnight camping trip. So the design will be something like 12-13' long, 28-30" beam with a displacement of about 120kg. I can see some kind of simple sail being added down the line.

I've been been researching skin on frame materials available in the UK and I'm slowly overcoming some of the obstacles but the time has come to ask for some advice. The main idea of this build is to go as cheap as practical, it's my first design and build and I don't want to invest too much before I have some experience. The idea is to have a light-ish but reasonably tough boat for use on my local river, the Nene, which is a navigable flat water river with lots of locks. The boat will be built under a simple tarp shelter and live outside under a cover.

So far my material options seem to be:

Timber
    I've recently inherited a table saw which was a step in the right direction. I've also made contact with the sawmill of a local estate who can supply me with Oak, Douglas Fir and pine/larch offcuts up to 12' long. I'm thinking of using Douglas Fir for ripping and scarfing stringers and gunwales. I think the timber available is green, definitely not kiln dried anyway. The other options would be 1.) To buy premium Western Red Cedar/Alaskan Yellow Cedar from a retailer such as Sykes or Robbins but I think I'd rather save that for boat number two. Or 2.) Go to the DIY stores and find a clear bit of kiln dried 'white wood' pine and be prepared to do a lot of scarfing.

Plywood