Thread: Restoring Antique Wooden Dinghy

Default Restoring Antique Wooden Dinghy

I just purchased a wooden Dinghy Pram. According to the guy I bought her from, she was built in the 1930s (named Pequod after Moby Dick boat). Considering its age, it's in pretty good shape. Don't see rot, no major cracks, and all seams seem tight. The current stain/varnish is flaking and cracking in areas, and there are a fair amount of small scuffs in the varnish that expose bare wood. I am thinking that she needs to be stripped and/or sanded down and refinished. Construction seems to be a mix of woods but mostly oak and ply with brass screws

I have a 1.5 acre pond, and the boat is meant for the sole purpose of rowing around, having lunch on the pond, etc. Not heavy use, all freshwater.

I am new to working on boats of any kind. So I have a few questions:

1) from the images, do you think she needs to be completely stripped and refinished? I love the current stain color, and don't mind the boat looking a bit aged, but I don't want it to rot out, is there a way to simply do "touchups" - or to restain and clear coat without sanding down to bare wood?
    2) as far as storing the boat, do I need to take it in and out of the water every use? I'd like to leave it in a semi-covered area outside with a custom canvas or nylon cover. Bad idea?
    3) If I do indeed need to streip and refinish completely, don't particularly love high-sheen finishes, and I'd like the process to be as simple as possible-- so I was thinking of using Deks Olje D1, but if I use that I can't stain it beforehand right? Better alternatives?
    s-l1600.jpgs-l1600-1.jpgs-l1600-2.jpgs-l1600-5.jpgs-l1600-3.jpg

Would love any thoughts/pointers/insights from the community on how to best care for her without a massive amount of "work".
    Thanks!!!

Default Re: Restoring Antique Wooden Dinghy

Cute little pram in very nice original condition.