Thread: "Semi-displacement" hull for the PNW?

Default "Semi-displacement" hull for the PNW?

I am in the planning phase of building a new wood fishing boat, I really like the Lobster style boats and have ordered a set of study plans for a glen L design in the 24' range. The lobster boats have a " semi-displacement" hull not a planing hull and I do not know much about them. I mostly fish in the Puget Sound so no swells but occasionally run 20 miles out off shore fishing Halibut, and have a bar crossing also. I have read that these hulls do not do well in a following sea is this a poor choice for the pacific northwest? I really want to build a strip plank boat and love the looks of these. any experience with these hull styles?
    Thank you

Default Re: "Semi-displacement" hull for the PNW?

I have lots of experience with the type, but must admit that I am somewhat of a zealot about them. It's a regional affliction, I suppose. What Glen-L design are you considering?
    Hope for the best, but plan for the worst.

Check out Sam Devlin's plans.....
    1955 Fontana 18' - 1958 Atomic 4
    1960 Skippy 12C FeatherCraft - 1947 Mercury KD4 Rocket
    1985 Glen L15 - 1980 Johnson 7.5 hp
    2016 kayak Mill Creek 13

Quote Originally Posted by mmd View Post
    I have lots of experience with the type, but must admit that I am somewhat of a zealot about them. It's a regional affliction, I suppose. What Glen-L design are you considering?
    the 22' eagle stretched to 24'+- is what I am looking at.

Unfortunately there is not much info to go on to evaluate the hull, Farmboy. I would like to see what the underbody of the boat looks like. I understand why Glen-L doesn't publish images of the lines plan on-line, but some photos would be nice. Oh, well...