Thread: Help ID this boat

Default Help ID this boat

Hello,

I'm hoping the good minds here can help steer me on course to identifying a recently purchased sailboat. I live in Vancouver (CA) and have sailed the Coast Salish Territory since childhood and have always admired the old boats. Of course I'd like to know as much as possible since I'm fairly new to this, but for the purposes of this post I'd like to see if anyone knows anything about the design(er) or build(er). Any terminology that would help me speak about it's features are most welcomed!

Here is what I know:

Builder: Richard Jones (recently passed, former Shipwright at Manly Shipyards, now Manly Marine, New Westminster, BC)
    Built Date: roughly 1985-90
    Design Date: possibly 1930's ??
    Construction: Carvel, Fir on Oak, Sitka spars, canvas over ply deck, white oak elsewhere, aluminum centreboard
    Size: 16' , ~5' beam
    Rig: Sloop (no insignia on mainsail)

This is Richards fourth small home build. Whereabouts of the others are unknown.
    Looking forward to any insight!
    Marc

01.jpg02.jpg03.jpg04.jpg
    Last edited by Parc; 05-06-2018 at 08:16 PM.

Default Re: Help ID this boat

With those steam bent ribs I would say it is a Atkins design.
    I love the smell of fresh cut plywood in the morning.

Do you have mast and sails? What type of rig, and specifically is there an insignia on the mainsail?
    -Dave

No insignia, 20' slotted mast has a 1' extension atop which makes me think the mast was extended to fit an available sail.
    btw, the boom is also slotted and extends to be inline with the transom...
    Last edited by Parc; 05-06-2018 at 09:01 PM.

An Atkin "Sanderling" perhaps with a nice deck added? http://www.atkinboatplans.com/Sail/Sanderling.html Very petty boat, whatever it proves to be!