Page 1 of 3 12 ... LastLast

Thread: Inflatable Proa

Question Inflatable Proa

Hi everybody - this is my first post.

I was going to add to the "outrigger & proa thread" but I know some forums discourage late additions to dormant threads, and I'm probably well off-axis on their latest stuff anyway...

I'm not a sailing expert - or any kind of expert for that matter. "Jack of all trades" might be insulted if he thought I was competing.

Anyway, I've turned my cheapo inflatable kayak into a minimalist sailing proa that just about works, but I have some ideas to improve it. I joined this forum to get some opinions and suggestions.

Basically I want (need?) to sail on holiday (renting isn't an option), so I must make any complex parts of the rig fit in standard weight hold luggage, and the bulky basic stuff needs to be made when I get there - from scavenged items and minor stuff you can always buy.

My first try was a pretty unstable rig but I think I know why and I think I've found a more promising approach.

I've read about most of the ways it's been done before (but not on this forum). This might be unrealistic - but I mostly understand what I haven't forgotten - if I remember rightly.

I can just outline my current plans, or add in the last tested version - how is it done here?

Or is it OK to summarise from the beginning? - in about 40 lines?

Regards.

Default Re: Inflatable Proa

Posting photos is easy now.

Take the pic and upload it to your computer.

Click on the square "insert image" icon at the top of the reply box.

Select "From Computer".

Now click on "Select Files".

That will give you a box where you can find your photos that are on your computer.

Click on the photo you want to post. The name of the photo will appear in the box.

Click on "Upload File(s)" and wait until it is uploaded.

Click on "Post Quick Reply". The photo won't actually show full size until you post the reply.