Thread: Advice on building a Gil Smith Catboat

Default Advice on building a Gil Smith Catboat

Hi all. I have been taken with the Catboat Madigan and am planning to build a similar design. This may be very familiar water for this forum, I’ve been doing research and still have some questions. There are the plans available for Atkins’ Cupid (I greatly admired Erwan’s build), and the Mystic Museum sells plans for the Great South Bay Catboat (Which are not intended to be complete enough for construction).

I am a professional woodworker, have sailing experience, and have restored an old fiberglass sailboat replacing all the wood parts that it had. I am confident in my woodworking, will need to learn lofting and many other esoteric nautical curiosities, and many other things I’ve no doubt.

Would it be reasonable to purchase the above sets of plans and build the lines of the Gil Smith GSB Catboat, using the construction notes for the Atkins boat? There are offsets for the GSB Catboat for lofting, and I can scale the deck layout and such. I would need to find out the proper displacement for the boat. Maybe a trip to the LIMM is in the cards?

What do you think?

Default Re: Advice on building a Gil Smith Catboat

A trip to the Long Island Maritime Museum would be a fun day. Their small craft building is stuffed with well displayed Gil Smith catboats. Take a ton of photos and notes and measurements. From those notes, along with the offsets from Mystic, you should be able to figure everything out for the Gil Smith boat.
    I'm suggest Bud MacIntosh's book "How to build a Wooden Boat". It was my Bible when I built a 20' gaff rigged sloop decades ago. From lofting to launch, it's all there in an understandable form.
    There is a guy from England building a Gil Smith boat. Go to 'search' and enter Gil Smith catboat Lorelei. I'd link it, but believe it or not, I don't know how.
    What will be your sailing ground?
    I was born on a wooden boat that I built myself.