Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Spira boat design help

Default Spira boat design help

Hi guys,

I am new to the forum and already read a couple of threads.

I am looking to build my first wooden boat myself. As a hobby woodworker I do have all woodworking tools and some experience building furniture.

The Spira International boat designs are great and I like them a lot.

I live near Lake Norman in NC (close to Charlotte). The boat will be used 98% on the lake. I we do a vacation on the coast, I want to be able to take the boat with us and use it in saltwater. This would manly be in channels and not out in the open salt water.

My goal is to have 4 adults and 2 kids on the boat.

I was looking at the 19' Hatteras and the 19' Albion.

It looks to me that space wise, the Albion would have more spare. But the Albion also has a flat bottom. The Hatteras is a V-Hull with a little less space.

I would probably use a 40-50HP motor with it and use a center console.

Any advice?

Thanks

Default Re: Spira boat design help

The Hatteras, all day long. Even in a small chop, a flat-bottom speed boat will rattle the teeth out of your head when underway at anything above 5 mph. Directional stability is better in a cross-wind in a vee-bottom boat, turns are more precise and predictable, and they lay to a mooring or anchor better. On the other hand, flat-bottom boats are easier to build.

But that's just my opinion, and everybody knows what opinions are like... <grin>
    Hope for the best, but plan for the worst.

Jeff's pangas are nice as well.

I saw the 19' Panga called Quintana. Unfortunately the 19' version is over 19' long, this will not fit in my garage to build it.

The 19' Albion with a v hull. This would be the best solution for me I think.

Quote Originally Posted by mmd View Post