Page 1 of 4 12 ... LastLast

Thread: Building a Hvalsoe-13

Default Building a Hvalsoe-13

This is Chapter 1 in what will hopefully be a finite narrative about my build of a Hvalsoe 13. The boat and her designer, Eric Hvalsoe, are fairly well known here on the Woodenboat forum. It's lapstrake built, 13'-4" LOA with a 4'-6.5" beam. She's the predecessor to his better known 16 and now, the Hv18.

Eric designed the boat for traditional construction and I thought long and hard about building in that manner. A big part of me fully appreciates the materials and skills involved in building a leak free boat that does not rely on epoxy. This same self, sometimes wishes he found the processes necessary to work that way enjoyable. But that guy doesn't really exist. I have the skills, I just find working in that manner somewhat tedious. So, I have chosen, with Eric's permission, to build in glued lapstrake using 6mm plywood for planking.

I have a lot of experience in building objects of many types, but I've just one boat build under my belt. That was my Somes Sound 12 1/2, Emily Ruth. My forum thread on that build is here: http://forum.woodenboat.com/showthre...es-Sound-Build

My lack of boat building experience is bolstered by my reading of this forum. I've learned a great deal from reading the experiences of others along with the comment from other readers. In particular, Rich Jones' forum thread on building his Hv13 (http://forum.woodenboat.com/showthre...the-Hvalsoe-13 ) has been and will continue to be a tremendous resource. I look forward to comments, pro and con, over the course of this build. I hope that both Rich and Eric will continue to provide input and help.