Thread: Cold moulded boats + recommendations for wooden boat surveyors near Auckland, NZ

Default Cold moulded boats + recommendations for wooden boat surveyors near Auckland, NZ

So,

I'm based in Australia, but those EnZedders sure know how to build a boat. I'm looking at the possibility of purchasing a beautiful cold moulded yacht in NZ (triple diagonal kauri, glassed over), keeping her there a couple of years while flying over every few months to do some exploring/maintenance and then sailing her back across the ditch to Australia (with professional assistance as I have limited offshore experience). She's an offshore racing design so should be easily capable of the crossing (provided, of course, that everything is checked and upgraded as necessary).

There's no denying this adventure is a bit impractical and certainly won't be cheap or hiccup-free. However, the boat was fully restored about 10 years ago and still appears to be in exceptional condition (spotless interior and bilge).

What I'm hoping is that someone local will be able to recommend an honest surveyor in the Auckland area with plenty of wooden boat experience to confirm that the boat is actually as good as she looks. I'm not clueless but there's plenty I don't know, especially when it comes to cold moulding.

Relatedly, I'd also love to hear from anyone with any tips on what to pay attention to in a cold moulded boat from the 70s.

All input appreciated, and thank ye kindly.

Default Re: Cold moulded boats + recommendations for wooden boat surveyors near Auckland, NZ

I would get me a brand-new 1.5 lb (.7 kilo) hammer...

And spend a day or three tapping every 2 sq.in.(13 sq cm), of the hull outside and inside, deck and transom, cabin sides and top, and spars. Listening for hollow spots.
    In ADDITION to getting the surveyor's report.

South Puget Sound/summer Eastern carib./winter

Default Re: Cold moulded boats + recommendations for wooden boat surveyors near Auckland, NZ