Thread: Final decision on Haven 12 planking

Default Final decision on Haven 12 planking

Friends,
    Im building Joel Whites Haven 12 . It will live on a trailer. Ive explored many processes and material and come up with the following:
    mahogany strips 2 inch wide attached to steam bent oak frames.
    Strips will be milled, bead and cove glued with titebond and attached with bronze screws one per frame.
    After fairing, apply penetrating epoxy then 6ounce cloth and resin.
    hopefully this will yeald a light and strong hull.
    Obviously Im looking for your input as to my plan as this is my first build.
    Dont beat me up too much...
    Thanks for sharing any thoughts,
    Craig

Default Re: Final decision on Haven 12 planking

Nice design! And welcome to the forum!

Do you plan to paint or varnish the hull?

If you plan to paint the hull I would recommend square WRC strips and epoxy. If varnish, I would first strip the hull and then cold mould a fore and aft layer of mahogny.

I suspect that 2' strips may be too wide for the shape of the hull.

Why penetrating epoxy? With cloth and epoxy sheathing penetrating epoxy will just add weight.

/Fredrik

I like the sound of it. I don't have the engineering skill to determine if those scantlings are correct but it feels right. Mostly. I have grown over the years less enamored of glass skin as I don't really see it as structurally helpful. Were this my project, I'd at least look at doing without the glass.

I very much second soaking the hull with CPES. It's not only a great primer; it's volitile solvents are a super anti-rot protection.