Thread: A Confesion and a Plea....

Default A Confesion and a Plea....

While glassing the outside of my Atkin Russell R, I made a bad batch of epoxy for wetting out the last bit of 12 oz. biaxial fiberglass cloth for the transom . I had just about 6 sq. ft. left to do and the batch I mixed was wrong. I have been using MarineEpoxy for the last 10 years on various builds, repairs, etc. and have consumed (externally) more than 50 gallons on various projects without a single mishap other than the odd batch kicking off sooner than I wanted. This time I got the batch wrong by reversing the ratio and had two hardener to one resin rather than the other way around. I now have a nasty sticky mess. That is my confession, my plea is for a way to clean it up so I can get back on track. I am considering white vinegar, acetone, and/or a heat gun. Any suggestions welcomed.

Default Re: A Confesion and a Plea....

Is there a good way? What I've done is to scrape as much as possible, then acetone to clean up what's left. I haven't tried vinegar - but others recommend it & it's certainly nicer to deal with than acetone.

Sounds like you have a fun Saturday afternoon ahead Grant - sorry!
    "If it ain't broke, you're not trying." - Red Green

Methylated spirits (alcohol) is probably cheaper than acetone and can be used with lots of rags to wash and wipe away sticky epoxy.
    There is nothing quite as permanent as a good temporary repair.

I would be reluctant to use vinegar (acetic acid) because it's not very volatile and would therefore leave a lot of residue soaked right into the wood.

Vinegar is great for cleaning your hands, and gloves when that's practical.

Quote Originally Posted by Gib Etheridge View Post
    I would be reluctant to use vinegar (acetic acid) because it's not very volatile and would therefore leave a lot of residue soaked right into the wood.

Vinegar is great for cleaning your hands, and gloves when that's practical.