Page 1 of 3 12 ... LastLast

Thread: No skills & reaching for the stars

Default No skills & reaching for the stars

Hello, I'm looking for advice on building my first sailboat. I have no experience in boat building, though I do have 2 years of carpentry behind me so I like to think I won't be completely helpless. I've decided over the last few months that I want to become a world traveller and eventually sail everywhere. I'm wanting to build a 50' sailboat capable of traveling from the U.S. east coast to Japan and beyond to Australia. Due to my career path, in 3 years I'll start having October - February as vacation time so I'm confident that once I get going I'll have this built over a max of 5 years. I'm wanting to forgo a diesel engine as my backup and have full electric via solar panels and using batteries as my main ballast. I'm also wanting this to be mostly self sustaining; a greenhouse with retractable cover on top of the cabin to grow mini fruit trees & vegetables, 2 or 3 methods for desalination, 2 or 3 methods for energy production (solar, water via propellers i can drag along behind, & windmills), some sort of system where i could use perhaps inflatable airbags to tilt the entire vessel to perform emergency repairs on the hull if the damage was so great I wouldn't be able to put in to a dock before sinking, & triple redundancy on communications\navigation. I'm sure this is a ludicrous amount of features to want, especially considering that I've never done this, but I'd rather spend some extra time and do this all exactly how I want and only do it once. I've already read some great posts in here, but I was wanting to do this thread so I had easier access to all the suggestions and recommended resources I hope get posted on to this thread. Already super excited from what I've studied so far, and can't wait to get some solid plans going!

Default Re: No skills & reaching for the stars