Thread: First boat (14 foot skiff) build questions and advice.

Question First boat (14 foot skiff) build questions and advice.

I am planning to build the duckworth 14 foot motor skiff this winter. I do not have access to reasonably priced marine plywood so I will be using Exterior grade. I have been through this over and over and since this is my first build, I have decided to use the cheaper grade. I know it wont last and I know about the voids in the ply.

I do however have a few questions i would like some advice on.

• Should I waterproof the plywood with an outdoor waterproofer l(like used for a deck) before I paint (i believe I will be glassing the entire outside)? ANSWERED
    • The build calls for 1/2 and 1/4 (bottom/sides) can I use 1/2 all around? ANSWERED
    • I plan to use external chine logs, is there any reason not to to do it this way? ANSWERED
    • Based on the design (http://www.duckworksbbs.com/plans/le...kiff/index.htm) whats the best way to setup my building base? ANSWERED

Please feel free to add any and all advice regarding this build. I have experience making things from wood but I have never built a boat.
    The tools I own should suffice, anything else i will need (other than lots of clamps) I have:
    • circular saw
    • sawzall
    • drill
    • impact driver
    • orbital sander
    • May be purchasing table saw for this project.
    Last edited by adiastra; 09-13-2017 at 09:58 AM.
    - Alec
    “In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made many people very angry and has been widely regarded as a bad move.”

Default Re: First boat (14 foot skiff) build questions and advice.

Did you buy the plans package? It seems to have some sort of building guide? That should help.

Don't use external chine logs. They are just as much work as internal, but have many drawbacks.

If you plan to glass the ply, that should go onto bare wood.

Peace,
    Robert