Thread: Sooty Tern..Gunter or Yawl

Default Sooty Tern..Gunter or Yawl

Ready to start my Sooty Tern. Has anyone built the Sooty with a Gunter rig. I sail on one of the Finger Lakes in NY State. The wind is always blowing up the lake or down the lake, pointing is always a priority, the Finger Lakes are all long and not too wide.

I know the forum is all about the yawl rig. My old big boat (plastic) spoiled me, a SS design 30 ft. North Star. Two tons of lead on a 5 ft. lever, upwind rocket. I have been sailing my pooduck, that I built, for two years. It sails OK, but not really a upwind rocket. So just wondering if anyone has built the Sooty as a Gunter Sloop, if so, please chime in with upwind performance report.

Thank

John

Default Re: Sooty Tern..Gunter or Yawl

Those of us sail and oar types in the Pacific Northwest who advocate for the lug yawl in boats like the Sooty Tern, do so because of the type of multi-day voyaging we do in the conditions that prevail here, not because it is a one-size-fits-all solution. Different horses for different courses. Wind here is highly variable and we frequently have to switch from rowing to sailing and reefing and unreefing up to a dozen time a day. Under those conditions, it's my view, and that of others who sail here, that a lug yawl is an ideal rig.

It sounds like your conditions are different. You don't say it directly, but it sounds like you may be primarily day sailing. You don't say whether you plan to row when the wind disappears or install a small motor. Perhaps the winds are more consistent on the Finger Lakes. In those circumstances, a Gunter rig would make sense to me.

However, I haven't answered your question whether the Gunter Sloop points better than a lug yawl. It should, but I'll leave it to someone who has one to confirm it, or not.
    Alex