Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My new hobby ....

Default My new hobby ....

Picking up plastic waste. Every time I go to town I pick up plastic scrap from the footpaths and gutters. Our town is beside a river so ever bit of plastic will other wise go down the drains and into the river, there to travel the 10 miles to the ocean to kill seabirds.

It's amazing how much plastic there is, clear wraps, plastic sweet wrappers, little hollow plastic fish that are perfect bird baits ( our local sushi shop gives them away full of soy sauce, plastic straws, plastic strapping. An endless supply.

The little bit I pick up is probably negligible but I've seen 3 other people in town picking up plastic too.
    '' You ain't gonna learn what you don't want to know. ''
    Grateful Dead

Default Re: My new hobby ....

Good on ya Peter.

Even if its just in your back yard, pissing in the wind is a good thing. I do it too.

I've been doing it for many decades. I've even been known to throw it back through the car window that some of it came from. "I think you lost this".

I did that with a lighted cigarette but once. Guy tried to get out but I kicked the door on his ankle a couple of times. That discouraged him.
    These days………………….. probably not.

Here on the Mornington Peninsula I can't get over the amount of macdonalds rubbish and other plastic waste that gets left in the T tree around where I have my dingy. I carry a black rubbish bag in the car. A few years ago after the kids finished eating a bag of raw peas we put the pea pods around a tree base on the nature strip. Got a $250 fine notice in the mail stating time, date of our rubbish dumping offence. Someone took our number plate details and dobbed us in!
    Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication. Leonardo da Vinci.

If war is the answer........... it must be a profoundly stupid question.

"Freighters on the nod on the surface of the bay, One of these days we're going to sail away"
    Bruce Cockburn