Thread: MFV wooden bilge keel repair

Default MFV wooden bilge keel repair

Hi

I currently have my 56' ex pilot cutter out of the water for some work. She was built in 1957 by Scottish builders Miller's of Monance, and is larch planking on heavy sawn oak frames with similar construction to most MFVs, except originally she had alternate bronze nails and rivets on each plank.

I have noticed that one of the bilge Keels has come loose at the front and will need refastening.
    The shipwright who has helped me with her before has emigrated to New Zealand, so correspondence can be a bit intermittent! However, he has advised either drilling right through and pulling up with threaded bar or coach screw with some bedding compound inbetween.

I am a builder by day, and very practically minded. However, this will be the first time I have done any repairs to her under the waterline without guidance - so needless to say I am a bit apprehensive..*

This is my intended plan of action:-

*Drill suitable pilot hole through middle of B/keel, plank and frame as far as necessary
    *using a tube of oil-based mastic, gun in as much as I can get in small gap between keel and hull
    *use a galvanised coach screw and nice chunky washer (possibly square washer), and tighten until gap is reduced
    *re-caulk seam with oakum
    *paint over caulk gap with Teamac Metachlor or lead paint
    *fill with red lead putty

Anyone's input on this method would be greatly appreciated
    Thanks

Default Re: MFV wooden bilge keel repair

Welcome to the forum.

Is the bilge keel planted on over the plank, or is it an extra thick run of plank? How wide is it, how many fastenings have let go?

The cure will differ for each alternative. However in either case it should be pulled all of the way back to where it used to be, not a reduced gap, but all of the way home.