Page 1 of 10 12 ... LastLast

Thread: Duck Punt

Default Duck Punt

Well, we have decided the pirogue needs a replacement/partner. We almost just made another pirogue, because we like them, and the pattern is well worn in my mind. Well, really, I have a master knee pattern for the one frame (which is also the angle of the lower stem knuckles, so the stem pieces can be pre made, too. Yes, the at stem bevel is marked on the pattern, too. Who's smart?) and the numbers for measuring out the panels.

The ply is already in hand, so there's not a bunch to it, really.

I have the plans, both a set of John Milgate's, and a set of the panel expansions Flo-Mo drew. Thanks to both parties for making the lines available for use.

I'm fairly unsure of how the build will progress, and how pictures will go up. Ahem. Well, it will be quick and dirty, for sure, because it's to be used and experimented with. If we just love it to pieces, I suppose more could be built. 3 sheets of ply and some wood ain't much, especially if it's a glue and screw job with no glass.

Anyway. Here will be born another punt. Sporadically, around my other large project (which is at a "waiting for cure" stage a lot, lately (), and Life and work.

I really think I want to do a breasthook with the little barrel groove down the middle. Hehe.

Peace,
    Robert

Default Re: Duck Punt

Well. I needed to "process" these panels, so rather than hope I cut the right shapes for making planks later, I simply plotted out Flo-Mo's panels. Thank you!

Lofting in metric is nice, eh?

Anyway, the panels are drawn and the sides are cut out. The bottom is fixing to get cut out. I will put up pictures when there are some. Does,anyone really want to see faint lines on plywood?

Peace,
    Robert

Looking forward to this, Rob. The world needs more duckpunting. I used mine as a tender for my Phoenix III last week when she was on a mooring at WoodenBoat. It was fun to duckpunt around 12 1/2s and schooners in the harbor.