Thread: Hacker's "Slippery"

Smile Hacker's "Slippery"

For a long time I've been wanting to build a SMALL raceboat and now have a 26 hp Kawasaki stand-up jetski engine/pump in good condition available at no cost to me. I have 59 years experience at building radio controlled boat models and several full size boats. "Slippery" has really got my attention and I'm thinking about building her LIGHT and with the 26 hp plant installed aft of the single seat. She is 14' X 5'......I fully understand that many of you cringe at the thought of using any part of a jetski for anything however I would appreciate any constructive thoughts you may have to offer. I don't expect high speed performance.....something around 20-25 mph would be plenty for this old man (age 78).......many thanks in advance!

John Campbell
    The mass of men lead lives of quiet desperation......Thoreau

South Puget Sound/summer Eastern carib./winter

Default Re: Hacker's "Slippery"

I wonder if a 26hp jet will even get her to plane?

Crandell and Nedwidek had some small outboard powered racing boats and hydroplanes. Motorboating Vol33 "outboard boats you can build", might have something a little lighter that would go a bit better with 26hp. I do not have problem planing a 300lb boat with my 130lb plus a 15hp Evinrude, but she is flat bottom. Only thing that puts me off is the revs and the noise, not exactly relaxing. Ear plugs a must if not already deaf.
    I might have Vol 33, if there is anything that might interest you, i could look it up if you are not dead set on the Hacker.