Thread: Off center mast and dagger board - same side or opposite?

Default Off center mast and dagger board - same side or opposite?

Could anyone please advise me as to the sailing advantages/disadvantages of off center masts and daggerboard being on the same or opposite sides of the boat. I am not interested in discussing the merits of center line masts and dagger boards verses off set ones. The boat I have in mind is 15 feet LOA and 3 foot beam. Almost like a canoe. I wish to install a long dagger board slot and multiple mast steps but keep the centerline clear for infinite seat/trim tweaking. This is a learning exercise for me to try different sails I have collected. Thanks, Alex.

Default Re: Off center mast and dagger board - same side or opposite?

I'm no boat designer, but it is my impression that it pretty much makes no nevermind.
    David G
    Harbor Woodworks
    http://www.harborwoodworking.com/boat.html

"It was a Sunday morning and Goddard gave thanks that there were still places where one could worship in temples not made by human hands." -- L. F. Herreshoff (The Compleat Cruiser)

I'd put them opposite. Daggerboard goes a wee bit deeper when the mast is a wee bit taller, and vice versa.
    - Mike

Quote Originally Posted by Surf and Turf View Post
    I'd put them opposite. Daggerboard goes a wee bit deeper when the mast is a wee bit taller, and vice versa.
    I've seen arguments both ways. But I seem to recall someone authoritative saying that - in actual use - there was no noticeable difference. Do you have some experience, or reports of experience... or are you theorizing?
    David G
    Harbor Woodworks
    http://www.harborwoodworking.com/boat.html

"It was a Sunday morning and Goddard gave thanks that there were still places where one could worship in temples not made by human hands." -- L. F. Herreshoff (The Compleat Cruiser)

Quote Originally Posted by Surf and Turf View Post
    Thanks. That makes sense.