Thread: Rebuilding and Repowering a 1966 ClipperCraft

Default Rebuilding and Repowering a 1966 ClipperCraft

I posted another thread about the hull deck joint on my ClipperCraft and received some interest so I thought I'd post a few pics about her and what I'm trying to do. I'm a beginner to boat building and restoration although I have experience with boats and sailing. I've been reading up on boat construction and design...I started with Sam Devlin's book on stitch and glue boatbuilding and have been reading S.S Rabl's Practical Principles of Naval Architecture. I just started Rabl's Boat Building in your Own Backyard...so much to learn!

I believe this ClipperCraft is a rare design, possibly a one off. The only other one I have seen that is similar is a sweet inboard double ender called a BarClipper which appears to be a copy of a Bartender. The boat I'm working on has a funny transom that looks like they truncated the double ended stern and installed an I/O. Does anyone know any more about these boats? It looks like this boat has been sitting in a barn for 25+ years so it is incredibly dry, making it the perfect candidate for a restoration.

As mentioned in my previous thread, my plan is to strip the hull to bare wood and repair any rotten areas (the bottom of the transom was rotten), refasten the bottom, then fiberglass the outside of the hull. I want to sand the entire interior and seal it with epoxy, fillet the frames, and install a new propulsion system.

So far I've removed the old engine and out drive, fuel tanks, wiring, and cut out the rotten area of the transom. I've stripped one side of the hull to bare wood and am currently working on the other side. I'm working with my dad, who is very knowledgable about boats, so this is kind of a father/son project and an opportunity to learn from my old man. We are designing a new stern...hoping to make her back into a double ender.