Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fish able Sailing boat

Default Fish able Sailing boat

Hi guys n gals , brand newbie here so go easy on me ! Found this forum looking for ideas for my next adventure. Just adore the photos of the amazing craft that you people post . I am a mad-keen kayak fisherman that recently started sailing and now Needs to build a sweet little sailing boat that can either stow or furl the sail quickly to allow room to fish . Can I please be advised on your suggestions with as many photos as possible ? My interest in building and sailing is gathering momentum. Just so many ways to achieve nirvana!

Default Re: Fish able Sailing boat

Almost any light open boat that's good to row and sail will work.

First, you want a one sail rig of greatest simplicity and stowability. Probably a balanced lug would work best. Free standing mast a big plus.

Secondly, you want two sets of oars. One with open top oarlocks for any real rowing. And one with pin oarlocks so you can fish from the rowing seat and let go of the oars when you need both hands on the rod.

From there, it's just practice.

G'luck

I agree with Ian in most part, but a strong disagree on the pinned-oars. Proper oar leathers with buttons will allow you to let go the oars when necessary without forcing you to the crudities of stroke with an oar that can't be feathered or slid inboard and outboard as necessary. You most definitely don't need a second set of crappy oars and oarlocks. Nothing takes the joy out of rowing like pinned oarlocks. Horrible!

Thanks so far . I've been looking at Goat Island Skiff and Viviers "Illur " as a reference to size and complexity. Lug rig looks great but is it possible to have a furling mast ie: Hobie Adventure Island , where sail is wrapped around mast by turning it ? Also easier to tune sail to conditions. I live in Perth Western Australia where conditions change quickly .