Thread: Are these planes a good value ?

Default Are these planes a good value ?

Hi Wood workers,

I am new to hand tool woodworking and could use some advice regarding the following planes found for sale localy.

Also what are the things I should look out for when buying used planes?

https://sfbay.craigslist.org/sby/tls/6031953540.html

https://sfbay.craigslist.org/pen/tls/6030809575.html

Thanks

Default Re: Are these planes a good value ?

That collection of Stanly planes and shaves is a treasure! They look to have been pretty well cared for by a knowledgeable craftsman. If no cracks are in the castings, they would be a decent buy. My friend Bob Kaune is the best source for old Stanly Tools. You can compare his prices here. https://www.antique-used-tools.com/
    Jay

The price for the Record No. 7 plane is too high. Check Ebay and you'll find good Record and Stanley's for less. In fact, it looks like that same plane is listed on Ebay by the same seller right now for $150.00 with free shipping http://www.ebay.com/itm/Record-Wood-...oAAOSwax5YvGZz Note the auction ends in 38 minutes.

ETA - I also think you could do better on the other planes both in terms of price and usability, if you're looking for a basic collection of planes to actually use rather than for their collector value or as an addition to planes you might already have. Out of the group of planes, you're most likely to use the No 3, No 5 and the block plane most frequently. The casting of the No 3 is cracked which is a bad sign for a user and has some other minor issues which are easily remedied by replacing the tote and ball...but why do you want to go through that when you can pick up a decent No. 3 off Ebay quite easily and cheaply (i.e. http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vintage-Stan...EAAOSw2gxYv09E) ?

Stanley No 5 planes are also readily available.