Thread: Lean & Clean tools and best antifoul to use?

Default Lean & Clean tools and best antifoul to use?

Hi everyone. I live in the Far North of New Zealand and I have just purchased my first sailing vessel. A 24' plywood Spencer. I'm heading off to pick her up next week and sail her home around the coastline. I would like to give her a Lean & Clean before I go, but have never done this before. I presume it's a matter of scrapping the barnacles off with some kind of tool? Also is it worthwhile painting the hull with an antifoul paint? & which type should I get? Like I say, I'm new to this, so any information would be appreciated. Cheers.

Default Re: Lean & Clean tools and best antifoul to use?

State of the bottom depends on how long the hull has been floating and the effectiveness of the antifouling. I keep a small craft on mud berth in Northland, and only need to do a bit of scrubbing to clean the bottom, every few months, because nothing but algae like growth takes hold whilst the hull dries out between tides. There is no antifouling on the hulls ( a 23 ft waka and a 15ft ama). Scrubbing can be done with a pot scourer.
    When this craft is left floating, for more than a few weeks, then barnacles will start to grow, and I will need to rub the hulls down with a block of wood to knock the barnacles off before finishing off with the scourer. This is the same treatment that I have had to give to a small catamaran which had been floating in the Waitmata for a year, but which had been anti fouled by the previous owner. To apply new anti foul paint, you will need o haul out nd do a proper prep job in a boatyard.

First up - welcome to the forum and good luck with the new boat. Where will you keep her?