Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Satyr Canoe / Punt prototype

Default Satyr Canoe / Punt prototype

This design follows from my musings in the "Duck Punt Evolution" thread. (I should have added the word "Sailing" somewhere in the title).

I use the terms Punt and Canoe very loosely, as physical resemblance will not be apparent. I am still not sure if either one will stick. Length is 4.4m (14.5ft) and beam 0.88m (34.6in), shoal draft, so ballpark canoe-ish.

Apart from sailing, it will also be tested in rowing and paddling. Target hull weight is around 30kg, hopefully less.

The Satyr description will become readily apparent as the hull takes shape, both in looks and underlying identity crisis.

It is my first build of my own design, as well as being my first build from scratch.
    My inexperience in woodwork became apparent from the word go, and my first attempt at scarfing two panels of 4.2mm did not inspire confidence.
    Many questions to follow.

Last edited by whiskeyfox; 10-03-2016 at 06:18 AM.

Default Re: Satyr Canoe / Punt prototype

In photo one, how are the clamps holding your spline in place? It doesn't seem they can be acting like ducks in any way.
    Everything changes . Everything is connected . Pay attention

Quote Originally Posted by WHYankee View Post
    In photo one, how are the clamps holding your spline in place? It doesn't seem they can be acting like ducks in any way.
    They clamp against small brad nails tapped in halfway.

the 1st and 2 sentences have captured my attention

think i'll hang out in the rafters and see what develops...

sw
    Last edited by swoody126; 10-04-2016 at 06:53 AM.
    "we are the people, our parents warned us about" (jb)

steve

First few questions about the scarf -

The bevel ratio is 1:12 but subsequent browsing shows that 1:10 or even 1:8 is much more common.
    Does the bevel ratio have any influence on the difficulty of producing a neat scarf?