Page 1 of 6 12 ... LastLast

Thread: HOW CHEAP CAN A MICRO CRUISER BE BUILT? Let's find out...

Smile HOW CHEAP CAN A MICRO CRUISER BE BUILT? Let's find out...

This is my 1st post on this forum. I was inspired by some comments about how cheap can you build a micro cruiser... So I decided to find out. I had been collecting stuff (as we do) for about a year or so and commenced building on July 1st.
    It is about 13 ft with 6ft 3ins beam. Cat rig or gaff main and jib. I don't have any plans as I'm numbers dislexic, but I see it in my head. I'm an artist hence I am numbers illiterate but visually driven. The keel is laid, transom, stem, bottom sheets of ply, knees etc. I have most of the ply and so far it's cost me $410 AU.
    Much of the timber was from old Oregon pegolars etc that were pulled down and left as hard waste on the side of the road. I'm hoping to complete the hull for less than a $1,000 (but you know boats... Cost twice as much and take three times as long)
    There are some framing with bulkheads and longitudinals to eliminate twist, but much will also be epoxy complimented with single pack polyurathane glue. Love epoxy, I thin it with 50% metho as a primer, slightly thickened as an adhesive and mixed with baby powder (until gloss just off it) for fillets. My last 2 masted yawl I lived on until a few years ago was a multi chine frameless ply, epoxy with either metho or talc.
    So looking forward to seeing how cheap I can make it. I would like to make it clear cheap does not go with junky, I want a really decent vessel, not a floating dogs bottom. I look forward to enjoying reading people's thoughts. So thanks guys and cheers and happy boating DAVE

Default Re: HOW CHEAP CAN A MICRO CRUISER BE BUILT? Let's find out...

The proof, of course, is in the sailing.

In the mean time, let's see some pictures.

You have to post them on a site like Photobucket and link to them here. Thorne has a tutorial floating around here somewhere.

Allan