Thread: Mizzen rigging for sail and oar

Default Mizzen rigging for sail and oar

Hollow spars are constructed, sail kit in hand, and rigging questions abound. I think I have the foresail rigging of my Sooty Tern figured out, but some of the details of mizzen rigging are perplexing me. Given I have no experience with mizzens, reefing, or lug sailing, I could use some advice.

Here are my questions concerning the mizzen (17 sq ft area on the Sooty Tern):

1. Is a vang necessary or advisable? If so, what would be a good way to rig the vang?
    2. Is an outhaul necessary or advisable?
    3. Reefing: would it be best to rig a reefing system that connects the luff & leech cringles with one line (I can envision this in my head, but have not worked it out) or would two separate lines be advisable.

I've googled and search the forum as best I can to get these answers, but to no avail. I've also looked through all of the images I could find, including James McMullen's images of Rowen but I can't put all of the pieces together - too may dangling lines for me to understand.

If anyone would like to share their working mizzen rigging, or advice, I would much appreciate it.

Default Re: Mizzen rigging for sail and oar

Offcenterharbor has a great video on rigging the Caledonia Yawl by Geoff Kerr, it has good mizzen setup. If your not a Offcenterharbor member, it is well worth it.
    "There are many sailors at the bottom of the sea that are smarter than you or I"

deke,
    Thanks for mentioning OFC. I am a member and a fan. Though I appreciate Geoff's approach to rigging (and building), he a bit to minimalistic for my tastes. Also I don't want a sprit boom mizzen which he builds on the CY, so I'm looking for other ideas.

Quote Originally Posted by Bassbug View Post