Page 1 of 4 12 ... LastLast

Thread: I have brain cancer

Default I have brain cancer

First: I have brain cancer. Iím not looking for sympathy or suggestions on new ways to combat the problem. I have a plan and am implementing it every day. Iím very lucky to have pretty good insurance and a great support structure, and good health (apart from that).

Second: Iím not very happy about making this thread. After virtually knowing all of you for so many years, I know how sensitive you can be. My wife has been pressuring me to do this for a while Ė she thinks you-all have been exposed to all the same toxic crap that I have been for the past 50 years, and may have similar issues.

Background: My dad had us kids building houses from an early age, and I worked in construction, welding, painting, and installing from my early 20ís to age 40. I always tried to protect myself from harm, but you know I was exposed to a myriad of poisons in that time. Since age 40, Iíve worked in an office, but have built a number of boats and campers and all kinds of household things. Iíve worked with a lot of 2-part paint, epoxies, and have melted big chunks of lead a number of times.

Now: I have a rare, inoperable, fairly aggressive brain cancer (anaplastic astrocytoma). I found out two months ago when I had a major seizure and woke up in the hospital. An MRI scan showed the tumors clearly. Iíve just started radiation and chemotherapy, and all the other crap that goes along with those treatments. My prognosis isnít great Ė I have about a 50% chance of being dead within about three years. Iím working hard to be in the happy side of that 50%, as much for my wife as for myself.