Page 1 of 11 12 ... LastLast

Thread: Pathfinder Build In FL Keys

Default Pathfinder Build In FL Keys

Received plans couple days ago, I've been studying them non stop and I think I've read through just about every blog and post here. Many thanks to guys that took time to document their builds, it's has been very helpful so far.

This will be my third boat build, so,I have some experience but definitely not a pro.

Ill try to keep a good log of any mistakes I find or confusing areas for future builders. I think the plans have gone through a few revisions so hopefully most have been corrected.

My my first challenge will be to locate some quality ply. I'll have to either order some or pick some up in Miami.

I was was leaning towards using Hydrotek for toughness/rot resistance/$$, but after researching there seems to be several cases of delamination. I'm going to price some Sapele and see if I can go that route.

Any my thoughts on the quality of Hydrotek?

Default Re: Pathfinder Build In FL Keys

From what I understand, the Scamp Camps are steering away from HydroTek due to delamination issues. Not sure I would use something different or not if I were to start over. The other options get pricier.
    “It doesn’t matter how slowly you go -- so long as you do not stop.”
    -Confucius

Yesterday I drove up to Worldpanel in West Palm Beach and got my ply. They have a sweet collection of teak and marine ply. They swore by their meranti ply, he gave me his word it and promised to stand by it. It's called Hydrocore, not tek. It has a Drangon BS 1088 stamp. He has had zero delam issues with it over a course of a few years. I also grabbed a sheet of Sapele for the transom and enough for the top strake, these will be finished bright. The guys at Worldpanel treated be right, they gave me a 20% discount for making the drive to their warehouse and they sold me a huge pile of scrap teak for cheap.