Page 1 of 5 12 ... LastLast

Thread: Stitch & Glue Gunning Dory

Default Stitch & Glue Gunning Dory

This thread here will be to cover my building of a stitch and glue gunning dory. A place for me to share my experience with you all, and receive comments and suggestions on the build process from you all as I go along as well. The main reason I chose this model is to have a lightweight rowboat that can be relatively easy to lift up on top of our pop-up tent camper to take along on camping trips. Also easy enough to handle on a small dolly setup to launch off the local beach - all the nearby ramps around me charge ten bucks each day to launch your boat, the beach is free. I have just received the plans and I am studying them. The plans come from Paul Butler projects, and were written up in Outdoor Life magazine some time back. Paul calls this boat the Pacific Troller Dory. The boat is 15 feet 6 inches long, and 45 inches wide. This is a first for me doing a stitch and glue boat. My first real boat building experience, other than the sof kayaks, was a ply on frame skiff completed about two years ago. So, stitch and glue will be a bit different for me. The plans I've received do not show a lines plan or have offsets, but give dimensions to make a bottom panel, a lower panel, and an upper panel to create the entire boat - if that makes sense... The boat is symmetrical so dimensions for a pattern for 1/4 of the boat for each completed panel is all that is needed. There are a few options in the plans for materials and seating arrangements. My first real decision there will be to use 3/16 or 1/4" ply for the hull. The plans say 1/4" for the bottom (or heavier if you wish), and either 3/16 or 1/4" for the sides depending on intended use and/or finished weight of the boat. My initial thought is 1/4" and deal with the little added weight for having a tougher boat. One main idea from the plans is to pre-finish all the assembled panels first with an epoxy coating before stitchin