Thread: The Grebes of the 50's and 60's

Default The Grebes of the 50's and 60's

Here's a research project on Grebe boats. I worked as a teenager at Henry C. Grebe & Co. on the North branch of the Chicago river, across from Riverview Amusement park in the 50's and 60s, and would like to enlist your help. Wondered if there were any members or owners that might provide any information.

These were among the finest crafted yachts in the business and among the most seaworthy. As a poor kid in the city, I had no understanding of what life might become, however thanks to a wonderful sea dog of a Dad, founder of a Sea Scout ship, pushed into leadership positions beyond my capabilities, the teachers of Lane Tech and prof of NIU, Grebe's leadership, Maggie, Tom Leonard, Corey Berg-Olsen and others, I could stand in the wheelhouse of 18 of these fine vessels, chauffeur owner's wives shopping, learn to love the beautiful ladies we built, imagine a future, and be a part of history. What an opportunity and an absolute blessing!

Now trying to give back a bit to those interested, trying to find most all of those 18, actually 16 now as one was destroyed by fire a couple of years ago and one by Hurricane Hugo. Thanks to Ted Hoheisel of Elegante' in Seattle and anonymous Master Mariners, who have allowed me aboard to see those that exist preserved today, that we had a piece of, (if only in the white lead plugging of the hull planks and varnish for plugs in the decks, graduating to the transom, where every error showed, then to the fancy (can't think of a better word) rope work on stanchions and lines) in the 50's and 60's.

Thanks in advance for your assistance. Hope to post a couple of pictures shortly that heretofor haven't been seen.
    Don

Default Re: The Grebes of the 50's and 60's

Hope you get some leads on these Don. Kathy