Page 1 of 3 12 ... LastLast

Thread: Dunham and Timkin 26' Wooden Sailboat Needing Some Help

Default Dunham and Timkin 26' Wooden Sailboat Needing Some Help

This is my first time posting on this forum so please go easy on me, I am a rookie here. I have some experience with wooden boats I have built a 15' CLC Skerry and my previous boat was a 35' Sea Skiff. But now I am venturing into uncharted waters for myself. I just picked up a 1951 26' Dunham and Timkin Sailboat. She came with everything I you need to sail her with and some stuff you don't need like some rot on her keel. She arrived yesterday and I unpacked everything and today I figured I would get to work on her. I started on the port side at the bottom of the keel and removed two planks because they were loose and wouldn't sit correct on the stem. And it is also the only part of the boat that needs any kind of work, the decks and everything above the water line is almost like the day she was built, no rot or anything. So I have removed the two lowest planks and I'm a little concerned for what I have found. The boat has had the planks re-secured a couple of times in her life. I'm thinking that the frames will need to be replaced? I know you guys love pictures but it says my file size is too large but I have them on photo bucket and I can't make the file size any smaller. So there will be a link to the photo album at the end here. If someone could please take a look at the pictures in the album and have some ideas or suggestions it would be greatly appreciated. I would really like to make her seaworthy again, she was built not too far from me in Mystic, CT and she has sailed to the Virgin Islands and to Bermuda, she has a unique design being a hollow keel with the massive deadweight on the bottom of the keel. Thanks for any help you might be able to give. I have learned a lot from all of you over the years enough to make me want to venture and give this project a try.