Page 1 of 38 1211 ... LastLast

Thread: Building the D18 Myst - 18' Beach Yawl

Default Building the D18 Myst - 18' Beach Yawl

Here goes… I'm a novice builder, but I hope you enjoy another build thread. I welcome your comments and constructive criticisms. Just kidding, I don't really want any criticism.

Several years ago, I found that I could not shake the idea to build a sailboat. I had four years experience as a carpenter when I finished college back in the 80`s and I could read a blueprint so I figured I was up to it, and had previously built 3 Chesapeake Light Craft kayaks from plans and had enjoyed the experience. However I live about a hundred miles from decent sail-able water and my family heritage is Pennsylvania Dutch (german) - a group not exactly known as a seafaring people.

Boating history:
    1. AMF Flying Fish sailboat. Fun but uncomfortable for anyone older than a teenager, and has no way to reduce the large sail, and no auxiliary power so sailing conditions have to be just right. Still have it.
    2. O`Day 192. Loved it, but too big to launch at the shallow boat ramp on the upper Chesapeake and too heavy to tow behind my mini-van, and took too many people too long to set up.
    3. Thistle. . A beautiful wooden boat, though I don't know what I was thinking since Thistles are racing boats and I didn't want to race. Need crew, no reefing. Too much boat for a leisurely day sail with the wife, so I sold that to a young fellow who races her regularly.

I assigned my sons the job of finding a design to build that had all the features that I needed. The requirements were as follows:
    1. It had to be pretty (I'm sure you understand) Yes it is number 1.
    2. Reasonably traditional in design- but modern building methods and features are fine.
    3. Provision for a small engine - engine AND oars even better…
    4. Versatility in the sail plan. Ability to sail in a range of wind conditions with crew or single-handed.