Thread: How to build a stand for a 55 gallon aquarium?????

Question How to build a stand for a 55 gallon aquarium?????

I'd like to build a sturdy stand for our new aquarium. It's 48" long and 13" wide. I'd like it to be coffee table height and about two feet wide as it would replace the coffee table.

It would be nice to have shelves under it. Even nicer to be able to open the doors to the shelves from both sides.

I've never built anything like this before. Any help with plans and ideas will be appreciated.
    Choose wisely -Treat kindly...

A secret to a good marriage is to have a quick mind and a slow mouth...

S/V ORCA 38' Herreshoff Ketch

Default Re: How to build a stand for a 55 gallon aquarium?????

55 gallon, eh? You do know how much that's going to weigh, of course. I'd suggest getting the carpenters a bit tipsy in the Pub, and convincing them to build you one (' .... oh yes, Jim, I have video...'). I'd suggest one made from a nice hard maple. Beautiful. I can almost piktur it....

Quote Originally Posted by George Jung View Post
    55 gallon, eh? You do know how much that's going to weigh, of course. I'd suggest getting the carpenters a bit tipsy in the Pub, and convincing them to build you one (' .... oh yes, Jim, I have video...'). I'd suggest one made from a nice hard maple. Beautiful. I can almost piktur it....
    The water weighs 440 pounds, plus the weight of the aquarium, gravel, etc. So, it should hold 500 pounds, to be on the safe side.

Funny you mentioned Jim, he came to my mind as I wrote the post. LOL

What kind of video do you have?

Ms. Spin, I built mine out of 3/4 inch plywood. It lasted for about twenty years. Kind of a coffee table thing if ya know what I mean.
    "para todo mal, mezcal, y para todo bien también" (for everything bad, mezcal, and for everything good, as well.)

Quote Originally Posted by Spin_Drift View Post