Thread: about Tack Cloths (tack rags)

Default about Tack Cloths (tack rags)

I stumbled upon a post in this forum ...
    why not mineral spirits instead of tack cloth?
    http://forum.woodenboat.com/showthread.php?155430-why-not-mineral-spirits-instead-of-tack-cloth

...and I see that there are a number of other tack cloth references in this forum. I'm a foremost expert in tack cloth, with more than 35 years in tack cloth design, manufacturing, applications support, marketing, etc. I thought that I'd take a moment here clarify some of the comments in that thread, at least.

Generally, tack cloths are part of contamination control practices in fine finishing, which may also include sweeping or blow-off (recommended only in a positive pressure environment where dirty air is replaced with filtered, clean air), vaccuuming, solvent wiping and other methods, depending on the process. Tack cloth remains essential in many "Class A" painting/finishing processes such as automotive assembly paint process. But bear in mind that the requirements of the tack cloth design and quality will be stringent in these critical industrial finishing processes -- cheap, commodity types won't be acceptable. Its poor quality tack cloths, marketed by price-driven retailers, that often give the product a poor reputation.

"lint free cloth" = cloth made without fiber. and with some sort of finished/sealed edges. This general definition comes out of the cleanroom industry, and excludes wipes made of cotton or cotton blends, and most non-wovens. Cotton and other fibrous wipes (particularly when washed) are sometimes claimed as "lint free" in relative terms, but not according to any independently accepted standards. Lint free wipes are made usually with a continuous filament (mono-filament) polyester yarn, and the edges are finish woven or knitted, and/or sealed with heat, ultrasonics or laser.