Page 1 of 19 1211 ... LastLast

Thread: Tasmanian mini tug build

Default Tasmanian mini tug build

Hello everyone, I'm after a bit of advice. I am just starting to build one of the Candu tugs from Berkely Engineering and I plan to use an outboard motor for propulsion, the plans call for a simple keel but I have seen some with box type keels mostly when an inboard diesel is installed.
    I was thinking of adding a box keel even though I'm installing an outboard and possibly use it for storage, extra boyancy foam, a low point for a bilge pump (just incase) and to make beaching a bit easyer, my question is would this addition alter the safety or handling in any way, I'm a cabinetmaker by trade so building is easy enough but I'm no designer so any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Phill

Default Re: Tasmanian mini tug build

The additional displacement of a box keel will have to be compensated with ballast to keep the trim even. Then there may be scantling issues to compensate for the added displacement which may themselves add to the displacement...
    Have you talked to the folks at Berkely Engineering?

I have the plans for this tug. The tugs I've seen built used a box keel in order to lower the inboard engine and make room in the pilothouse. I haven't seem any with a box keel and an outboard. It also strikes me that the keel would affect steering as well as propulsion, unless you made fin keels. Post your progress and welcome to the forum mate.
    " He who works with his hands is a laborer.
    He who works with his hands and his head is a craftsman. He who works with his hands and his head and his heart is an artist".
    St. Francis of Assis (1181-1226)

Welcome, I too am building a Candu EZ. I am using an outboard also, so I went with a 3 inch thick "skeg/keel". I'll try to post a few pictures.

Quote Originally Posted by DCBrown View Post