Page 1 of 29 1211 ... LastLast

Thread: Argie 15 construction journal

Default Argie 15 construction journal

Note: Please feel free to comment, critique, or otherwise chime in at any time!

I've noticed a lot of people create threads that track the progress of their builds. Those construction journals are very helpful to others. I hope you can glean some useful info from this journal for my first build, an Argie 15. I'm an all-thumbs novice, but I'm eager to share this boatbuilding odyssey with others.

(Above) The outcome I'm working towards. I love all the bright finishing inboard.

(Above, left) Some craftsmen have really turned out magnificent looking copies of the Argie 15.
    (Above, right) The smaller sister of the Argie 15, the Argie 10.

Design selection. I need a bigger boat! Not because I'm under siege by a 25-foot great white that wants to snack on Amity Island's vacationers. Unlike the crew of the Orca, my need for a bigger boat arose due to joyous additions to my family. We need a larger daysailer to replace my small plastic Walker Bay 10 dinghy. I am also limited to a medium-sized sedan and a small trailer so the hull weight needs to be no more than 200 lb. The sharpie style boat and the lovely Storer Goat Island Skiff appealed to me -- great aesthetics and ease of construction. However, I eventually boiled my selection down to a multi-chine design from Dudley Dix, Lillistone First Mate, and the Selway-Fisher Highlander 14. Woodenboat Magazine praises the Argie 15's design in terms of performance, ease of construction, and versatility. The plans for the Highlander 14 ($115) were more expensive than the Argie 15 ($55). I liked the fact that there are so many highly-detailed photos of people's Argie projects online because this info would help guide my build, and proved the design was both ubiquitous and reasonably easy for beginners to accomplish.