Thread: Micmac plan modifications

Default Micmac plan modifications

I want to start out saying I'm a first time builder and for me to think I can build a better canoe with modifications would be foolish. I'm building the 17' x 34" from David Hazens plans and what I have run into is, I first had to raise the entire stem a 1/2" on the strongback to get it to fair with the bottoms of the forms that were placed as directed. That seems to be a good adjustment as everything looks good from that stand point. Next modification is with the sheer line. When I placed a strip along the sheer to see how it would look, It had a sharp hook downward from the end forms to the stem and overall looked to have too much of a banana shape. If the stem had not been moved upward on the strongback the hook would have been worse. My thought on this is that the plans are for a 15' through 18' canoes, the shorter the canoe the more banana shape It will have. Raising my temparary strip along the sheer 1" on the stems leaving a 17" sheer height matches the bottoms of the forms and makes a better looking sheer line to me. If this approach of flatening the sheer seems doable, would It be better to raise the sheer line at the stems to 17" or keep the sheer at the stems the same at 18" and raise the midship to 13" instead of 12".

Default Re: Micmac plan modifications

Hopefully Todd Bradshaw will chime in here. He's built a few versions of this canoe.

Usually, the stem forms have an allowance for the intended thickness of an inner stem, so moving it vertically by 1/2" will eliminate that allowance. This is not a problem if you plan to build a stem-less version of the boat similar to the methods used by Gil Gilpatrick. You will need to make a corresponding adjustment for the change to the sheer made by moving the stem forms. Moving it "up" from the strongback should flatten the sheer a bit at the ends.