Thread: Repairs on a stitch and glue kayak

Default Repairs on a stitch and glue kayak

I bought a used Pygmy Coho a little while ago. The varnish on the hull was peeling and the previous owner had sanded some of it off. It has a couple of deep scratches along the bottom, but nothing that goes through to the glass. The problem is the bow. It's missing a couple square inch chunk of wood that I think needs to be replaced. It looks to me like the original owner had initially used some sort of putty to smooth out the bow, but I'm not sure. See pictures below.

Bow

Varnish on hull

Stern

I'm pretty sure that I can remove the varnish with a random orbital sander and 120 grit paper. Then either I can paint the hull (with Brightside?) or wetsand with 220 and varnish (I've never varnished anything before).

I'm not so sure what to do about the bow. Any suggestions?

Please keep in mind that I'm a complete novice at this.

Thanks

Default Re: Repairs on a stitch and glue kayak

If that is what I think it is it looks as though someone has stuffed the stem into something unforgiving and then repaired it with boat in a can, covered with woven glass cloth. I would want to do the repair properly, then strip all of the patchy varnish and re do it from bare wood. Don't wet sand wood, it goes all fuzzy. You can wet sand between varnish coats though.
    It really is quite difficult to build an ugly wooden boat.

The power of the web: Anyone can post anything on the web
    The weakness of the web: Anyone can post anything on the web.

How would I "do the repair properly"? Remember. I'm a novice.