Thread: What type of boat would you build for Colorado lakes???

Default What type of boat would you build for Colorado lakes???

I would appreciate all feedback from you people here. This is a great forum by the way I have been reading post after post since I found it yesterday. Well to the point...I am a very experienced fiberglass repair guy. I am now done with number 6 project. It was a venture 17 that had been hit by another boat. Anyways the thing is I am a novice at sailing. I did a windrose 18 repaint and several minor repairs thought the boat was just sort of cool so when it was done I tok some sailing classes and then sailed it myself a few times...sold it...got a wrecked venture 17 and started again. I just sold it and decided to make the next project a complete wood build. I am above average in skill, and have more tools than most, now a big empty garage, cash from the venture sale....so,
    I wanted relative simplicity so I started looking at the different dory boats. They are very plain and forward as far as the build, but thanks to this forum now I have read a lot of remarks that have me thinking they are more suited for rather experienced sail handlers. They sound bulletproof when rowed but not so under sail.
    Colorado is a unique place especially for sailing. The issue of concern for me is "the wind". Colorado is a place where you can go from 5 knots to 20 with a severe change in direction as well in literally a few seconds. So an easy to handle rig, a stable and forgiving boat, and reasonable simple construction, (I just don't wan't to be doing any steam bending on wooden build #1), are I think the qualities I'm after.
    Any design feedback will be greatly appreciated.
    Also I am taking more sailing classes in about a month and possibly next spring as well. I am giving myself a good year for building since I do have a pretty hectic work schedule through summer. Well again all feedback and design suggestions will be appreciated.
    Thanks,