Thread: Dental Pain

Default Dental Pain

Generally I'm pretty pain tolerant. But, there's one thing that just brings me to my knees though and that's a severe toothache. I began having the twinges of a toothache late this week. Went to the dentist Friday morning , was sent to an endodontrist, who tells me I have an abscess in a tooth in which I've already had a root canal done about four years ago. He doesn't want to drill it out until the swelling goes down so he prescribes an antibiotic and some pain pills. This ******'s getting worse. I'm popping Vicodin left and right with no relief. Haven't slept in a few days now. . .
    Last edited by Paul Pless; 03-04-2012 at 07:06 AM.
    Simpler is better, except when complicated looks really cool.

Default Re: Dental Pain

So now we know why you're up at this hour.

Which tooth?

#30. Lots of referred pain through my temple, ear and upper jaw

Lessee, lower right first molar. Ouch.

If it's any consolation, I got one on the other side grumblin'. They should have started Obamacare as a universal dental program.

make sure the doc gave you the right anti biotics. ordinary amoxil wont do it.
    I had this a couple of months back. My doc gave me a script for some powerful AB's
    Swelling and pain started going within 6 hours or so.

It will prolly give you oral thrush though I didm't need any further dental work after.

This is a hard pain to control before the dentist gets to work. I suggest:
    1. Aspirin.
    2. +Tylenol or Ibuprofin.
    3. + over the counter Lidocaine prep applied on the affected tooth area. This is cocaine, essentially.

I would add drinking clear distilled beverages but they may react with 1-3 above. You could try clear distilled beverages without steps 1-3.

Hang on tight until you get to the dentist.
    "Whiskey is for drinking, water is for fighting over." -Samuel Clemens

I'm a little better this morning. Just a little, but its a great improvement over 2:00 am last night. . .