Page 1 of 18 1211 ... LastLast

Thread: Gartside double-ended cutter #106

Default Gartside double-ended cutter #106

Dear all,

I’m working on Paul Gartside 22 ft double-ended cutter, design #106.

Before telling you more about my (limited) progress – I’m a real newbie builder so please let me know if/when you see anything that doesn't make sense…

Deciding which boat to build has not been easy. I started quite open-minded with two limitations – the design must be possible to build with wood locally available in Sweden and the beam must not wider than ~8 ft. The northern part of Sweden is covered with very large areas of high quality wood that has been used for boat-building for thousands of years. Despite this - or maybe because of this - it is very difficult to find plywood suitable for boatbuilding. Moreover, after building two test-boats, ”The Honker” a Bateau plywood design and a strip-built canoe designed by Björn Thomasson, I decided that I favour the epoxy strip-building technique. After this, I spent some time with the internet identifying a number of designs that I found interesting, in particular The Eel, Grey Seal, The Maid and finally, #106. After discussions with Mr Gartside, I feel very satisfied with #106.