Thread: Catamaran Skin-On-Frame hobie cat style? Has it been done?

Default Catamaran Skin-On-Frame hobie cat style? Has it been done?

Newbie here. Sorry if this has been adressed before. I've been searching online and in the forums and haven't seen if anybody has done this. I've built a stitch-and-glue CLC kit kayak and recently a skin-on-frame canoe. I'm sold on skin-on-frame but am wondering if the reason it hasn't been done is because of the stress on each hull when you start to fly. I figured I'd double the number of ribs and add some extra stringers to beef it up. If there is a thread on this I would love to read it. I'm itching for my next project and this idea, or a sailing canoe with outriggers, is where I'm headed. I'm thinking of a 15'5" made of cypress (I can get clear 16' lengths around here New Orleans, LA) with laminated cross beams. Thoughts, ideas?

proudfoot
    Last edited by proudfoot; 06-22-2011 at 11:56 PM.

Default Re: Catamaran Skin-On-Frame hobie cat style? Has it been done?

Can't answer your question, bur I was wondering if the Wharram Hitia 14 would be a candidate:

"Smooth seas do not make skillful sailors". African Proverb

If ur interested in anything with outriggers, check out the outfitted thread.

As far as sof goes, i too am sold on it for most kinds of small boats. Except sailing multihulls. The long narrow hulls of a multi have to constantly fight flex and twist, and as such are always built as stiff as possible. The whole point of sof is to be flexible, so it is not an ideal medium for sailing multis imho. It has been done however, a sof outfitted sailing canoe was built and posted on by... his name escapes me, but he's a terrific sof kayak builder with his own site and lots of great stories on that site... someone will chip in here im sure... but the point is, he has a story of how he launched and sailed the boat. But i have never seen another report of it online. So it can be done, but may not be a great platform. My 2 cents.