Thread: A Pulling Boat for a Large Rower

Default A Pulling Boat for a Large Rower

I would like to build another rowboat. I'm a vey tall and heavy guy, 6"5" 300 pounds, and will be rowing on the Great Lakes. So I might get caught in some rough going. Years ago I built Bolgers Light Dory and I now row Welsford's Molleyhawk. I found the Light Dory fast but tender and the Molleyhawk stable but a little slow. I have some boat building experience, but don't want to spent years building a boat (I want to row).

I've kind of narowed the choices down to a Stectched Light Dory or the CLC Northwester Dory. Anyone have any opinions on these two boats. How do they compare? I am very open to other choices.

Thanks for the help!

Default Re: A Pulling Boat for a Large Rower

The CLC boat is a different animal than the Bolger Dory. It's got a much wider bottom and rounded sides - which is how the dory evolved to become better suited for sailing. So, it'd be more stable, but likely much more work to row. The Light Dory, and the stretched version, were optimized for rowing, only.

I have zero experience in one, but it's likely that the extra length would make the stretched dory a bit less tender than the original.

My predilictions are, as usual, for the Bolger boat, but there are a whole lot of other options. Both forumite Clint Chase, and Joel White, have nice double ended pulling boat designs - the Drake and the Shearwater, respectively. Clint's can be had as a kit, I believe.
    I daresay Ian Oughtred has a few good designs, too, including his Elf, and his Acorns. Both are beautiful. My personal finding was that Bolger's Light Dory was much more responsive and easier to row than Oughtred's Elf - but not nearly as stable. It's a trade off.

Good luck!

When you say "rough going" -- can we assume you need some flotation and most likely bow & stern decks, plus probably small side decks to keep the boat safe?