Thread: Filling boat with water?

Question

I'm new to the world of boat ownership. I understand that I have a new relationship to learn about with my wooden sloop.

I just bought this a 17 ft funky old wooden daysailer (mahogany clinker strip planked) at a garage sail a month ago. The people who sold it to me said that I should fill it with water to swell the wood and reduce the leakage. I've done that and indeed the leakage has slowed down and now the boat only takes on a manageable amount of water that we can pump out as we sail.

I'm wondering what my concerns should be about this practice of filling our boat with water. The previous owners suggested that I put some vinegar in the water which I do. I notice the floor boards are a bit slimey after the water has been siffoned out.

This is a boat I 've been hauling weekly to the lake on a trailer for a Sunday sail and we live in Southern Oregon where it tends to be hot and dry in the summer.

Something tells me I should be more cautious that I am about this water filling practice. Is this a legitimate practice? If so, are there any guidlines for this practice?

Thanks

Welcome to the forum! Your instinct is right. Boats are designed to resist water pressure from the OUTSIDE, not from the inside. Kind of like an egg made out of strips of wood. If you fill it up with water while supported by a few, isolated hard spots such as when on a trailer or in cradle, you WILL eventually, if not imediately, strain the structure to the point that your leaking problem will get catastrophicly worse. Pick up a gallon jug of water sometime. Now imagine how much enough "jug fulls" to fill your whole boat weighs! Even just a few inches in the bottom is a bad idea...